The Ontario Infrastructure Bank is a new, arms-length, board-governed agency. The Board of Directors shall manage or supervise the management of the Ontario Infrastructure Bank’s affairs and will be composed of at least three and at most 11 members.

Board members will be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council (LGIC) on the recommendation of the Minister of Finance and will need to have significant financial and infrastructure related project expertise.

As part of its commitment to transparency and accountability, the Ontario Infrastructure Bank has made available a Letter of Priorities issued by the Minister of Finance to the Chair of the Board. The letter outlines the Government of Ontario’s immediate priorities for the OIB for the next year and sets out the government’s expectations for the OIB’s role in building critical infrastructure in Ontario.

Board of Directors

Brian J Porter

Brian J. Porter

Chair of the Board

Brian J. Porter served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Scotiabank from November 1, 2013 to January 31, 2023. He currently serves as Chair of the Board of Governors of Huron University College at Western University, as a Director of the Fairfax Financial Holdings Ltd., and as a Director of the Board of the Atlantic Salmon Federation.

He has also served as Chair of the University Health Network (UHN) Board of Trustees for 7 years, and currently sits as a member of the UHN Board of Trustees. Mr. Porter previously served as Vice Chairman and Treasurer of the Washington-based Institute of International Finance (IIF) as well as a Board Member of the Council of the Americas.

Mr. Porter earned a B.Comm. from Dalhousie University, and has been awarded an Honorary Doctor of Laws (LLD) from Dalhousie University (2008) and Ryerson University (2018). He is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program of the Harvard Business School.

Jan De Silva

Jan De Silva


Jan De Silva is Canada Co-Chair, Canada-ASEAN Business Council, Canada’s Representative to APEC Business Advisory Council, former President & CEO, Toronto Region Board of Trade, and an Independent Board Director.

As President and CEO of the Toronto Region Board of Trade, one of the largest and most influential business organizations in North America, Jan represented the businesses, talent and economic opportunity in Canada’s commercial centre bringing extensive international leadership and government relations experience to the role.

Prior to joining the Board, Jan served as CEO of Sun Life Financial’s Hong Kong and Mainland China businesses and co-founded and later sold Retail China Limited. She also served as Dean of Ivey Asia for Ivey Business School of Western University.

Highly respected for her business advocacy and government engagement, Jan has been Chair of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong, Chair of the Canada China Business Council in Beijing and served on the Board of the Asian Corporate Governance Association. She has been appointed by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to two three-year terms representing Canada on the APEC Business Advisory Council where she chairs the Council’s Digital & Innovation Working Group. Jan also sits on the board of Intact Financial Corporation, listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange.

Bryan Davies

Bryan Davies


Bryan Davies has extensive financial sector and governance experience in both the private and public sectors.

He served as inaugural Chair of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority, and was Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation from 2006 to 2016, serving concurrently as Vice-Chair of the Canadian Securities Transition Office from 2009 to 2013.

Prior to those appointments, he was Chief Executive Officer and Superintendent of the Financial Services Commission of Ontario and also held various Deputy Minister roles in Ontario, including as Deputy Treasurer and Deputy Minister of Economics.

In addition to those public sector assignments, he was Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at the Royal Bank Financial group and was Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Administrative Officer at the University of Toronto.

He has served on the Boards of both publicly traded and private corporations, and has been, and remains, active in a range of non-profit organizations, focused on heritage and education. Bryan is a graduate of Queen’s University and the University of Toronto.

His distinguished leadership and significant contribution in the field of public administration was recognized by the Institute of Public Administration of Canada which awarded him the Vanier Medal.

Stay Connected

To receive the latest news about the Ontario Infrastructure Bank